recipe

fred & ginger

IMG_0921

Sarah and I recently celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Tilth, a fabulous restaurant that is both incredibly awesome and four blocks from our house. We indulged ourselves and went for the 8-course tasting menu with wine pairings. It was incredible. It also gave me some great ideas for summer dishes, including a bacon-egg-frisee salad, a pea-and-basil risotto, and some sort of shaved asparagus dish.

However, that’s not what this is about.

We started the evening with cocktails. Tilth isn’t a big restaurant and they don’t have a fulltime bartender, but they do have an interesting cocktail list. I had a Cava Classico, which was a sparkling wine-and-liqueur type drink, and Sarah had a “Fred and Ginger”. We liked them both so much that I emailed the restaurant’s general manager the next day and he sent me the recipe for both. What a cool guy.

The Fred and Ginger features Woodford Reserve bourbon. I think you could probably get away with something lower-shelf (Makers would probably be good, but I’m no bourbon connoisseur). It also includes Domaine Canton, a ginger liqueur. I couldn’t find it at the Ballard liquor store, but I did find Stirrings, which seems to work OK.

At Tilth, they serve this in a rocks glass with one huge ice cube. If you’re a nerd like me, you went out and got a huge ice cube tray with your Dish it Up Living Social coupon. If you’re a mere mortal, any ice will do.

This is a great summer cocktail! It’s great for sipping on a hot evening, and I imagine it will transition into early fall nicely, and a good change of pace from my other #1 summer cocktail.

Fred and Ginger

makes 1 drink

Ingredients

1 1/2 oz bourbon, preferably Woodford Reserve
1/2 oz fresh lemon juice (about one half of a large lemon)
1/2 oz ginger liqueur, preferably Domaine Canton
1/2 oz simple syrup (combine 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water in a saucepan; bring to a boil, stir to dissolve, and cool)
1/4 oz (12 – 14 dashes) Angostura bitters

Directions

Shake or stir all ingredients with ice. Strain into a rocks glass over fresh ice.

3 thoughts on “fred & ginger

  1. Here from MeFi — love the blog! The drink looks great. I just have to ask, though. What nail polish are you wearing in that photo? It’s gorgeous.

  2. Hi Tasha – that’s actually my wife holding the glass. I asked her, though – apparently it’s Revlon Craving Coral. She recommends it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

